Fun News Today

I went into Ella’s today to do some work here on the website and on my other online portfolios and got some totally radical news: they have sold more of my photos than any other artist they’ve featured!!

So I’m totally stunned and humbled and reassured and want to say “Thank you!!” one more time to everyone who has bought a picture, said nice things about my work, encouraged me to get my name out there, or even just asked how things are going. Also, everyone at Ella’s continues to be incredibly supportive and encouraging and lovely to work with (and good cooks–my falafel today was out of this world!) and it’s worth the trip to Lowell to spend some time in their cozy cafe!

I thought it might be fun to give an update and share what I have in the works and plans/goals for the near future, so here goes:
–There are a few photo shoots coming up to take advantage of the winter weather that has finally arrived, one at Frederick Meijer Gardens and the other a drive along the lakeshore photographing various lighthouses.  Those are both this month, so look for those to be posted here by the end of January!
–There’s an amazing online portfolio portal (www.behance.net) on which I’ve started to put smaller, more artfully grouped collections that have a central theme to them.  The hope is that it might bring me to the attention of someone looking to hire a freelance photographer.  Fingers crossed!
–I am working on entries for various art shows that will be happening in the spring around Michigan, so no doubt that will keep me hustling in a few months.
–I’m meeting photographers in West Michigan to get feedback from them and explore possible collaborations.
–Over the next few weeks I’m going to pull together a collection of 50 photos that have an interesting story behind them and create a collection of short stories to (possibly, maybe, scarily) try to publish.

So I think that about covers it, but it’s more than enough to keep me completely swamped all the way through summer, no doubt!  Sometimes I stop and am just blown away by the fact that I’ve actually made this ‘photography thing’ a real business and have such huge plans for it.  I can’t wait to see what comes of it!!!

Sold most recently at Ella’s: Buddha Head Collage (Five individually framed 5 by 7 pictures)

       

Leave a comment

Filed under Announcements

Leave a Reply

